The Universal Selection Source:
Cosmetics Ingredients

Cosmetic Regulation in Afrca

SpecialChem / Dr. Annelie Struessmann – Jun 21, 2007

Africa today consists of 53 independent and sovereign countries. Most of these are republics under some form of presidential system. Since colonialism, many have frequently been hampered by instability, corruption, violence and authoritarianism. Africa is the world's poorest inhabited continent. Acc. to the United Nations' Human Development Report 20061, totally 177 countries were ranked for the Human Development Index (HDI). Of these, 29 African nations were amongst the bottom 31 nations. All of Africa's states except Morocco are forming the African Union (AU), a federation formed in 2001. The AU has a parliamentary government, consisting of legislative, judicial and executive organs and is led by the African Union President who is also the President of the Pan African Parliament-PAP. The actual President is Gertrude Ibengwe Mongella from Ukerewe, Tanzania. Considering the above, plus including cultural and religious preconditions, it is obvious, that cosmetic regulations are not a priority for most of the African nations. Frameworks were found for two countries: South Africa and Tanzania.

Be the first to comment on "Cosmetic Regulation in Afrca"

Leave a comment

Your email address and name will not be published submitting a comment or rating implies your acceptance to SpecialChem Terms & Conditions
in-cosmetics Global 2019
Channel Alerts

Receive weekly digests on hot topics

Back to Top