The material selection platform
Cosmetics Ingredients
The material selection platform
Cosmetics Ingredients
Product News

in-cosmetics Asia Announces 2023 Awards Finalists

Published on 2023-10-18. Edited By : SpecialChem

TAGS:  Skin Care    Hair Care    Sun Care     in-cosmetics   

in-cosmetics Asia Announces 2023 Awards Finalistsin-cosmetics Asia has announced the official shortlist for this year’s Innovation Zone Awards, the industry’s most prestigious accolades celebrating cosmetic science excellence across the Asia-Pacific region.

20 shortlisted ingredients have been selected by an esteemed panel of judges, each with a chance of winning the coveted Innovation Zone Best Active Ingredient and Innovation Zone Best Functional Ingredient Awards.

Offering a glimpse into the trends driving the Asian personal care market, it comes as no surprise that skin care products top the list for the greatest number of entries, closely followed by hair care and sun care. Skin care submissions featured a wide range of breakthrough active ingredients and green solutions that cater to the diverse and evolving needs of consumers across the region.

Best Active Ingredient Category

Qualifying ingredients must be brand new or launched within the last eight months and combine innovative science and product features that demonstrate substantial benefits to manufacturers and end-users.

Winners will be announced on Wednesday 8 November during the awards ceremony at the Bangkok International Trade and Exhibition Centre (BITEC).

The following ingredients have been shortlisted in the Best Active Ingredient category:

  • ALGAKTIV® Collage by ALGAKTIV: A 2-in-1 firming complex that harnesses the power of vegan, upcycled peptides, standardized in glycine, proline, and hydroxyproline.

  • Col-4-Frag remastered™ by LipoTrue: A remastered concept of collagen that acts as a building block and booster for collagen synthesis and tightens the dermis and epidermis while preventing senescence.

  • HAIRVIVINE®-PRO by RAHN AG : A water-based extract derived from the seeds of the Styrian pumpkin Cucurbita pepo var. styriaca. It contains valuable nutrients in the form of amino acids and carbohydrates that support the physiological functioning of hair follicles.

  • HOLOBIOSYS® by GREENTECH: A COSMOS-certified organic upcycled active ingredient made from a wild yellow gentian root extract that boosts hyaluronic acid and lipids synthesis, restores skin hydration, and allows the reinforcement of epidermal barrier.

  • Immunight™ by Lucas Meyer Cosmetics: A green-processed oil-soluble lavandin extract designed to reduce the effects of poor-quality sleep on skin by boosting nighttime skin recovery and targeting the improvement of sleep quality by inhalation of olfactory compounds.

  • PERFELINE®-FIT by RAHN AG: A water-based extraction of Helichrysum italicum syn angustifolium, chlorogenic acid, and di-O-caffeoylquinic acids to strengthen the micro-vessels in human skin.

  • Regenight™ by Lucas Meyer Cosmetics: An active ingredient that improves sleep quality while boosting the expression of melatonin pathway genes and antioxidant capacity to improve the skin regeneration process and reduce oxidative stress.

  • REGETASTE by CODIF Technologie Naturelle: An anti-ageing epidermal ingredient that improves skin texture and brightness.

  • SAGACIOUS™ by Seppic Asia: A biomimetic anti-ageing active extracted from Himanthalia elongata seaweed providing proven anti-sagging benefits.

  • Uplevity™ e-Lift peptide by Lubrizol: A high-performing and sustainable tetrapeptide inspired by microcurrent devices that mimics the benefits of electrical stimulation, such as boosting MBNL1 protein levels, collagen contraction, and mitochondrial function on the skin for an upper face lifted appearance and reduced visibility of wrinkles.

Best Functional Ingredient Category

The following ingredients have been shortlisted in the Best Functional Ingredient category:

  • Aristoflex Eco T by Clariant: A biodegradable ingredient based on renewable sources while providing outstanding rheology, oil & particle stabilization and an excellent skin feel. Aristoflex Eco T was awarded the silver Innovation Zone Best Ingredient Award at in-cosmetics Global 2023.

  • BELSIL® EG 3000 by WACKER CHEMICALS (SOUTH ASIA): A transparent silicone elastomer gel that offers a pleasant skin feel for use as an additive in products such as moisturising creams, foundations and deodorants.

  • BENTONE® PLUS GLOW by Elementis: A combination of natural ingredients designed to impart rheological control and suspension to the oil phase of cosmetics and skin care products and promote the skin’s barrier function.

  • EcoSense ™ APP-1000 Surfactant by Dow Company: A nature-derived, high-performance surfactant for use at low levels to boost the performance of other bio-based surfactants enabling naturally derived formulations.

  • Emulium Dermolea MB by Gattefossé: A plant-based O/W emulsifier offering a unique lipidic composition rich in sterols and triterpenes to reduce skin stress and bring long-term soothing.

  • EverGuard™ CY by Sino Lion USA: A broad-spectrum preservative ideal for use in a wide range of personal care and cosmetic applications including creams, lotions, facial masks, sunscreens, wipes, and more.

  • NatPro 8000 by Natura AeropackChemrez Technologies: A revolutionary, natural broad-spectrum preservative and antimicrobial active, expertly formulated from sustainably sourced coconuts.

  • SOFTISAN® MagicPOWDER S by IOI Oleo: A water-resistant/waterbinding vegan film-former for safe formulas offering caring smooth sensoriality, and providing a barrier protecting effect.

  • Tinomax™ CC by BASF: A functionalized, natural-based particle suitable for completely eco-friendly systems providing sunscreen improved performance for SPF and UVAA.

  • TMS-T05DCB/TMS-T10DCB by TAYCA CORPORATION: To be launched at-show.

Esteemed Judging Panel

This year’s esteemed judging panel welcomes:

  • Dr. Awanthi De Silva, senior R&D/ regulatory compliance lead, Moorebank Aerosols
  • Dr. Jaesung Hwang, professor, KyungHee University
  • Dr. Joonho Choi, chief researcher, Amorepacific
  • Dr. Kilala Tilaar, CEO, Martha Tilaar Group
  • Dr. Oliver Hofmann, in-cosmetics Asia official technical advisor and technical director, Shieling Laboratories
  • Faiza Hussain, co-founder and head of innovation, Younger Inc.
  • John Jimenez, senior researcher, Belcorp
  • Merve Samur, director, The INCI Lab
  • Mike Sohn, general manager, REACH24H Consulting Group
  • Muriel Pujos, technical and scientific director Skin Care, Coty Monaco
  • Ranelle Anderson, technical director, Ausmetix Pty Ltd.
  • Stacey Fraser (DipFormChem), Personal Care Product Design consultant, Stacey Fraser.co
  • Yvette Ishac, head of R&D, IconsIRauxel
  • Belinda Carli, director/cosmetic chemist, The Institute of Personal Care Science

To find out more about this year’s awards, or to register to attend, visit the show website.

Source: in-cosmetics

 Hair Care Channel Sun Care Channel Skin Care Channel in-cosmetics channel (for all)

Back to Top