Industry News

SCC Announces Winners of Scholarship for Cosmetic Science Development

Published on 2021-10-04. Edited By : SpecialChem

SCC Award WinnersThe Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) announces the winners of the Madam C.J. Walker Scholarship, sponsored by Mary Kay Inc., in support of under-represented minority students pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree in chemical, physical, medical, pharmaceutical, biological, or related sciences and technology.

Empower Next Generation of Scientists

The selection committee, which included Madam C.J. Walker’s great-great-granddaughter, chose the two winners from a group of impressive candidates, each of whom shall receive a USD 5000 scholarship:

  • Imani Elaine Porter, a second-year undergraduate in biochemistry from Hampton University
  • Joy Rutherford, a fourth year PhD candidate in chemistry from The Ohio State University

The winners have been invited to attend the SCC 75th Annual Meeting & Showcase, 13-15 December 2021 in New York City to be presented with the award.

Madam Walker was a pioneering Black female entrepreneur who inspired many with her financial independence, business acumen, and philanthropy,” said Dr. Lucy Gildea, chief scientific officer at Mary Kay Inc. “It is exciting to honor her legacy by supporting these two outstanding students in their pursuit of careers in cosmetic science. Mary Kay is proud to inspire and empower the next generation of scientists to follow in Walker’s footsteps.”

The selection committee was impressed by the outstanding applicants for the inaugural scholarship,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, CEO of the Society. “Imani and Joy rose to the top of this impressive group with their commitment to education, research, mentorship, and giving back in the true spirit of Madam C.J. Walker.”

Source: Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC)
Back to Top